50 Cent - Animal Ambition: An Untamed Desire to Win (Review)

50 Cent - Animal Ambition (Review) (Real Hip-Hop)

"Animal Ambition: An Untamed Desire To Win" is the fifth studio album by Queens hip-hop artist 50 Cent. The album features guest appearances from Jadakiss, Prodigy, Styles P, Trey Songz and others as well as production from Dr. Dre, Jake One, Frank Dukes and others. It was released on June 3, 2014 via G-Unit Records, Caroline Records and Capitol Records.

1) Hold On - The first song on the project features a mellow instrumental by Frank Dukes centered around a moody vocal loop, soft guitars and minimal drums. The beat is pretty good and 50 comes correct over it, kicking some of his usual street and braggadocios rhymes while slowing down his flow a little to match the pace of the instrumental. This is actually pretty good and reminds me of some of his older material. - 3.5/5

2) Don’t Worry 'Bout It (featuring Yo Gotti) - 50 Cent and Yo Gotti let the haters know not to worry about what they are up to over a synth heavy Charli Brown Beatz instrumental. The beat has a darker, club vibe to it and the rhymes are good enough for what they are trying to accomplish, but this is just ok for me. - 2.5/5

3) Animal Ambition - The Swiff D beat on this track has a sort of wild feel to it, with a funky jungle sample layered over tribal chants and drums, and Curtis sounds ok over it, rapping about his goals and ambitions while utilizing some animal metaphors and a growling delivery. Not bad I guess. - 2.5/5

4) Pilot - Shamtrax comes through with a head nodding instrumental full of breezy strings and guitars over shuffling percussion for 50 Cent to get busy over. Lyrically the song is more of the same, with 50 just boasting about how fly he is over the instrumental. This one is pretty dope though and is my favorite song on here so far. - 3.5/5

5) Smoke (featuring Trey Songz) - 50 kicks some rhymes comparing his chick to his weed smoke over a synth based Dr Dre, Dawaun Parker and Mark Batson instrumental while Trey Songz provides the chorus. I had high expectations for this song (being the lone Dre production on the album and all) and it doesn't really reach them. Instead, the song comes off as a blatant grab at getting radio play. Meh. - 2/5

6) Everytime I Come Around (featuring Kidd Kidd) - Steve Alien laces 50 Cent with yet another synth and piano instrumental that is ok, but isn't really standing out to me in the overall scope of the project. As far as the rhymes go, 50 just kicks some more of his usual street shit while G-Unit affiliate Kidd Kidd does the same. - 2/5

7) Irregular Heartbeat (featuring Jadakiss and Kidd Kidd) - Curtis Jackson teams up with Kidd Kidd and The LOX's Jadakiss over a minimalistic G Rocka and Medi instrumental. Unlike the past few tracks, the beat on this joint has a menacing vibe to it and actually sounds pretty unique on the album. This is better than the past two songs, but it's still nothing mind blowing. - 3.25/5

8) Hustler - Jake One (who just happens to be one of my favorite hip-hop producers) stops by and drops off a nice instrumental with some synth appreggios and a smooth backing sample for 50 to spit about being a hustler over. The beat is definitely better than the past few and Curtis comes correct over it. Nice. - 3.25/5

9) Twisted (featuring Mr. Probz) - The beat on this track, courtesy of JustHustle and Kyle Justice, is another one of the better ones on the album, with a jazzy backing sample and keyboards layered over stomping drums. The instrumental has a nice party vibe going on and 50 sounds good over it, rapping about "toasting to success" while Mr. Probz provides the chorus. I'm feelin' this one. - 3.5/5

10) Winners Circle (featuring Guordan Banks) - Curtis kicks some inspirational rhymes about being a winner over another dope instrumental, this time courtesy of Ky Miller. The beat has a celebratory feel to it, with a sprinkle of piano keys over soaring synths, and the vocals by Guordan Banks make it even better. I'm feelin' this one as well. - 3.5/5

11) Chase the Paper (featuring Kidd Kidd, Prodigy and Styles P) - Ty Fyffe delivers another ill instrumental for 50 Cent, Kidd Kidd, Styles P and Mobb Deep's Prodigy to spit over. The beat is nice, with some organs and soft guitars over the energetic drums, and all four emcees sound pretty good over it, rapping about people who chase money and women. Dope - 3/5

*Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks*

12) The Funeral - The first bonus track features a somber instrumental by Jake One that is better than pretty much every beat actually featured on the album. The instrumental is banging and 50 rips it, spitting a story about visiting the funeral of a man that got shot by one of his boys.
"In a room full of people came to pay their respect
I just came to get a close look at nigga to check
That nigga dead as a doorknob. Stiff as a nail.
And my man, tomorrow he gonna get out of jail
ROR, trust me nigga, I know the law"
This one is fire. - 4/5

13) You Know - 50 Cent kicks some boastful rhymes over an Soul Professa instrumental that is ok at first, but started to get way to repetitive for me as the song went on. The chorus is kinda catchy, but this track is just ok. - 2.5/5

14) Flip On You (featuring Schoolboy Q) - Now THIS is dope. The final bonus track turns out to be one of my favorite songs on the entire project, with Curtis and TDE's Schoolboy Q both spitting fire over a beautiful Nascent instrumental centered around a vocal loop. The beat is banging and the rhymes from both emcees are on point. Absolute fire. - 4.75/5

I'm going to rate the album

3 / 5

because its got some good tracks on it, but it has some filler as well. The beats are pretty hit or miss throughout, with some club tracks mixed in with the other more moody and hardcore instrumentals. Some of them are definitely bangers, but others fail to impress. As far as the rhymes go, 50 Cent doesn't do anything that he hasn't done before, kicking some of his usual street-orientated and boastful hustler raps while singing a good number of the hooks. The best conceptual track on the entire project ("The Funeral") ends up being only a bonus track on the deluxe edition of the album. Despite some real fire at the end, the album leaves me feeling like I've been there and done that before, which is a shame since its been quite a few years since 50's last release. It's not a bad album by any means, but there isn't really much on here besides the last few tracks that will make me want to go back and listen over and over.


Post a Comment